News from the Japanese Internet Without Needless Complexity

kransom from welcome datacomp has started a new service, the welcome datacomp linkblog. Its purpose is to introduce to English-speaking anime fans some of the more interesting aspects of the Japanese fandom without having relevant news trapped in between images of tits and ass and WACKY JAPAN that it takes for other anime and manga culture news sites to attract readers.

It annoys me when there are sites which resort to the old-fashioned WOW ISN’T JAPAN CRAAAAAAAZY gimmick to get viewers, which is partly why I’m promoting this alternative as I think it’s much more tasteful, though keep in mind that taste is a relative thing.

Really though, you should go check it out, and see some of the more intriguing threads from 2channel, among other places.

8 thoughts on “News from the Japanese Internet Without Needless Complexity

  1. Thanks, I’ll be using this every day, sadly what drove me away a certain other site even more than the exploitive nature of much of the content or the inanity of the discussion threads was that the complexity of that site made it painfully slow to load on a limited internet connection.

    Like

  2. Thanks, that looks like a great service. I really hate those “Japan is weird” sites that you mentioned because it feels like they’re really scraping the bottom of the barrel of bizarre, obscene rags. I bet I could find the same thing in American or GB tabloids. Having lived in Japan for ten years, I know for a fact that it’s not weird at all. If anything, I found it to be more similar to Western nations than many other countries.

    Anyway, the site looks nice. Short, simple, and with direct links if we want to read more about the topics. I hope it can be like Moonphase, except for non-Japanese users.

    Like

    • I don’t know if I could bring myself to translate manga where Sleepy whips out some GHB and orders Daizaburo to get some “rape practice” on one of their female colleagues, Koike or no.

      …okay, maybe, but I won’t be putting my name on it.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Bokusatsu K1 Cosplayer Jienotsu « NeoShinka

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.