This weekend from July 29th to the 31st is Otakon weekend and I will be in attendance. Otakon this year is packed with guests and premieres, and I’ll most likely be attending as many of those as I can, as well as a bunch of other panels in between.

I’ll be wearing this:

I’ll also be participating in one panel, which is “Anime and Manga Studies” on Sunday at 9am. If you’ve ever thought about using anime or manga in a school paper, or if you’re interested in becoming a research of anime and manga, this is the panel for you. Don’t worry about not being “academic” enough, either. I’m a fan who became an academic, and as anyone who knows me is aware, my fandom is stronger than ever.

I also recommend attending the Masao Maruyama Q&A (even though I probably won’t be so I can see Shinkai’s new film). He comes every year but those things are always incredibly, incredibly informative. Ask him about the new Kaiji Season 2 that’s currently airing!

This is only a tentative schedule, and my plans might change on a whim or because I’ll be hungry, but here are just some of the things I am considering attending. I’ll also be trying to get a bunch of autographs.

Friday

  • 9:00am: Best Manga You’ve Never Read (Panel 4)
  • 10:30am: Moe Moe What? (Panel 4)
  • 11:00am: Remembering Satoshi Kon (Panel 1)
  • 12:00pm: Becoming a True Pokemon Master (Panel 4)
  • 1:00pm: Opening Ceremonies (Panel 3)
  • 3:00pm: Aniplex of America Panel (Panel 1)
  • 5:00pm: Madoka Magica + Q&A (Video Room 5 HD)
  • 8:00pm: Chemistry Concert (Hall D)
  • 9:30pm: Fukushima Dai-ichi (Panel 1)
  • 11:00pm: Bad Anime, Bad!! (Panel 5)

Saturday

  • 9:00am: Unusual Manga Genres (Panel 2)
  • 10:00am: Hoshi o Ou Kodomo +Q&A (Video Room 5 HD)
  • 1:00pm: Special Surprise Premiere (Video Room 5 HD)
  • 2:30pm: Trigun: Badlands Rumble (Video Room 5 HD)
  • 4:00pm: Vertical Industry Panel (Panel 5)
  • 5:30pm: Full Metal Alchemist: Sacred Star of Milos (Video Room 1)
  • 7:30pm: Sunrise Industry Panel (Panel 3)
  • 10:00pm: Dubs that Time Forgot (Panel 1)
  • 12:30am: Anime’s Craziest Deaths (Panel 6)

Sunday

  • 9:00am: Anime and Manga Studies (Panel 2) <– I will be on the panel
  • 12:00pm: Kylee Concert (Hall D)

See you at Otakon!

