Continuing with my Megaman fever as the result of the announcement of the 10th game in the main series, I’ve gone back to making NES boss sprites for the fun of it. You might recall that last year around the time Megaman 9 came out, I had created a sprite for a design from my childhood, Garbageman. This time around however, I’m working with “existing” Robot Masters.


Above you’ll see the three Robot Masters from the really awful DOS Megaman game for the PC and then my sprites based on them below. These bosses, from left to right, are Sonicman, Voltman, and Dynaman. The game was licensed by a company called “Hi-Tech Expressions” from Capcom in the 1990s and was released only in the US. The biggest challenge here was trying to get them to actually look in line with the bosses from the NES games while also keeping them faithful to their original designs as well as actually looking good.

And if you’re unfamiliar with how awful the DOS version is, a gameplay video can be sampled below.

My next round will be the bosses from the PC Megaman III game. Personally, I can’t wait to tackle “Sharkman.”

EDIT: Actually, one more thing.

