Weekly Famitsu has announced a new Super Robot Wars for the Nintendo Wii, and boy is the cast something. I don’t care who you are, there’s no way you could have possibly guessed this list. It is craziness incarnate.

Series new to SRW in bold.

Mazinger Z
Great Mazinger
Juushin Liger
New Getter Robo

Sengoku Majin Goshogun
NG Knight Lamune & 40
Ginga Senpuu (Galaxy Gale) Braiger
Zettai Muteki Raijinoh
Genki Bakuhatsu Ganbaruger
Nekketsu Saikyou Gosaurer
Kanzen Shouri Daiteioh
Shippuu! Iron Leaguer
Mobile Fighter G Gundam
Lord of Lords Ryu Knight

THIS LINEUP IS BONKERS!

Also, as you can see, there’s a bunch of super robots, and then a bunch of robots which may or may not qualify as real robots. This isn’t the land of sissy whiny boys, my friends!

For those unfamiliar, Raijinoh, Ganbaruger, Gosaurer, and Daiteioh are from the same “series” called the Eldran series, similar to how Exkaiser, Might Gaine, Gaogaigar, etc. are the “Brave” series.

It’ll be 3D instead of the normal 2D sprites, which some say is a death sentence for SRW games, but you know what? I LIKED SRWGC. And really, I will take 3D graphics because they gave us this psychocrazy series lineup.

What I find most hilarious of all is that on the Anime 3000 Giant Robot podcast that I participated in, I had a brief discussion with Mike Dent from R5 Central about whether or not Juushin Liger was a giant robot. I was like, “Naaaaahhhhh…!” and Mike Dent said that it was possibly a Powered Armor or a Bio Armor, but I think we agreed that we couldn’t really call it a giant robot per se.

WELL I GUESS YOU PROVED ME WRONG BANPRESTO/BANDAI/NAMCO.

What I’m looking forward to is Great Mazinger channeling a Thunder Break through Liger and creating-

Nah, too easy.

I’m also wondering if I’ve accidentally stumbled onto some terrible power where my offhanded comments actually affect the SRW series…

